Library Council

University Library Council

Chair: Holly Brewer (

University Libraries Contact: Judith Kidd (

Senate Office Contact: David Turner (

Materials (for council members only)

The University Library Council (ULC) was the first Council established to provide joint oversight of a University activity by the College Park Senate and by the supervising Vice President. Councils are authorized in Article 8.6 of the University of Maryland Plan of Organization for Shared Governance. General rules concerning Councils are given in Article 8 of the Bylaws of the University Senate, and the structure and mission of the ULC are described in Article 9 of the Bylaws. The Bylaws of the University Library Council can be found in Appendix 1 of the Bylaws of the University Senate.

The ULC is advisory to the Dean of Libraries. It is appointed jointly by the Provost and the Senate, and reports to both. The specific membership of the ULC is defined in the Senate Bylaws. The ULC meets regularly, usually with the Dean of Libraries, and advises the Dean on all library issues of interest to the University community.

^ Meetings & Agendas

Fall Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
November 6, 2023 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm  McKeldin Library 6135


November 29, 2023 11:00 am - 12:00 pm Zoom Agenda
December 14, 2023 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm Zoom Agenda
Spring Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Tuesday, Feburary 6, 2024 1:00 pm - 2:00pm Zoom Agenda
Tuesday, February 27, 2024 1:00pm - 2:00pm Zoom Agenda
Thursday, April 11, 2024 10:00am - 11:00am Zoom


Wednesday, May 1, 2024 11:00am - 12:00pm Zoom Agenda



Past Committee Work

Council Members

Baron, JasonFacultyINFOjrbaron@umd.edu2024
Baron, SabrinaFacultyARHUsbaron@umd.edu2024
Bertot, JohnEx-Officio - Provost's RepSVPAAPjbertot@umd.edu2024
Brewer, HollyChair of the councilARHUhbrewer@umd.edu2025
Carpenter, LindsayLibrary FacultyLIBRlinge@umd.edu2024
Chinoy, IraFacultyJOURichinoy@umd.edu2024
Cohen, PhilipFacultyBSOSpnc@umd.edu2025
Frenkel, ShulamitUndergraduate StudentBSOSsfrenkel@terpmail.umd.edu2024
Galitski, VictorFacultyCMNSgalitski@umd.edu2024
Kadis, AlexandraGraduate StudentARHUakadis@umd.edu2024
Kern, SusanFacultyARCHskern@umd.edu2025
Lape, KisaFacultyARHUklape@umd.edu2025
Mack, DanielEx-Officio - Libraries RepLIBRdmack@umd.edu2024
Sachs, NaomiFacultyAGNRnsachs@umd.edu2025
Sinha, TriptiEx-Officio - Division of IT RepDITtsinha@umd.edu2024
Sly, JordanEx-Officio - Senate Chair-ElectLIBRjsly@umd.edu2024