IT Council

Information Technology Council

Chair: Jeffrey Klauda (

Contact: David Turner (

The Information Technology Council (the IT Council) is the campus-wide committee that advises the Chief Information Officer (CIO) on information technology issues of strategic importance to the University. The Council is the main advisory body for ensuring that the University becomes one of the top 25 public universities in information technology. It provides advice and guidance on issues brought to the Council by the CIO, the Council members, and the University community. 

The Council is instrumental in creating, maintaining, and helping guide the implementation of the University's information technology strategic plan on campus. Additional responsibilities include creating synergy among information technology groups across campus, helping eliminate barriers to advancing major information technology projects on campus, and providing guidance on priorities for information technology innovation, coordination, collaboration, policy, assessment, communication, rate structures, and projects.

The specific membership of the IT Council can be found at the link below and in the Senate Bylaws. More information about the IT Council can be found on the main IT Council website.

Past Committee Work

Council Members

Blanchard, JackEx-Officio - Provost's RepSVPAAPjblancha@umd.edu2023
Buchholz, KarolinGraduate StudentBMGTkabuchho@umd.edu2023
Chen, Zhi-LongTenured FacultyBMGTzlchen@umd.edu2024
Dahl, DavidEx-Officio - Dean of Libraries RepLIBRddahl1@umd.edu2023
Duffy, PamelaProfessional Track FacultyINFOpduffy@umd.edu2024
Halbfinger, AyeletteEx-Officio - IT Student Advisory CommitteeBMGTahalb@umd.edu2023
Hollingsworth, JeffreyEx-Officio - VP IT/CIODIThollings@umd.edu2023
Klauda, JefferyChair of the councilENGRjbklauda@umd.edu2025
Kolla, SriharshaUndergraduate StudentCMNSskolla@umd.edu2023
Mo, YifeiEnabling Research Working Group ChairENGRyfmo@umd.edu2023
Roth, StephenLearning Technology Working Group ChairSPHLsroth1@umd.edu2024
Roy, DawnExempt StaffVPRdroy1@umd.edu2024
Sam, AugustusInfrastructure Working Group ChairPRESsama@umd.edu2024
Shelley, MaryIT Security Advisory Committee ChairSPHLmshelley@umd.edu2024
Wright, JulieEnterprise Systems Working Group ChairARHUjwright@umd.edu2024