Staff Affairs Committee

Staff Affairs Committee

Chair: Judi Gorski (
Coordinator: Claudia Umaña (
Materials (for committee members only)

The Staff Affairs Committee formulates and reviews campus policies affecting staff members, including policies regarding periodic review of campus departments and administrators that employ staff members. The Staff Affairs Committee administers the nomination and election process for staff representatives to the Council of University System Staff (CUSS). Every year, the committee also facilitates the nomination process for the Board of Regents (BOR) Staff Awards at the University. In addition, the committee is responsible for helping with the recruitment of staff representatives for campus and Senate committees, including system-wide activities involving staff. The committee actively promotes opportunities for staff involvement in shared governance at every administrative level.

The committee consists of an appointed presiding officer; eight staff members, with two members from each of the elected staff categories; two category II contingent employees, with one exempt and one non-exempt to the extent of availability; one faculty member; one student; and one representative each of the Senior Vice President and Provost, the Director of Human Resources, the Vice President for Administration and Finance, and the Vice President for Student Affairs. The three elected University representatives to the Council of University System Staff (CUSS), shall serve as voting ex-officio members; the alternate University representatives to CUSS shall be non-voting ex-officio members.

For more information about the annual Board of Regents (BOR) Staff Awards, please see the BOR Staff Awards page.

^ Meetings & Agendas

Fall Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Friday, September 18, 2020 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM ZOOM Agenda
Monday, October 5, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM ZOOM Agenda
Friday, October 30, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM ZOOM Agenda
Friday, November 20, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM ZOOM Agenda
Monday, December 7, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM ZOOM Agenda
*Non-committee members may contact the Committee Coordinator for the Zoom link to attend the meeting.
Spring Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda
Committee Work
Doc No
NameCurrent StatusUnder Review By
20-21-08Interim University of Maryland Procedures on Sexual Harassment and Other Sexual MisconductUnder ReviewStaff Affairs Committee
18-19-36Policy on Criminal Background Checks for Faculty and Staff EmployeesUnder ReviewStaff Affairs Committee

Past Committee Work

Committee Members

Azzarello, JosephExempt Staff (Division)VPURjazzar@umd.edu2022
Barabak, AmeliaEx-Officio - Provost's RepSVPAAPabarabak@umd.edu2021
Carpenter, MeredithEx-Officio - CUSS Rep (Non-Voting)VPSAmcarpent@umd.edu2022
Chase, ShirleneEx-Officio - VP Student Affairs RepVPSAschase@umd.edu2021
Curney, Marie-JustineNon-Exempt Staff (Academic)ENGRmjcurney@umd.edu2022
Feldman, EricStudentARHUefeld2@terpmail.umd.edu2021
Floyd, JoniFacultyLIBRjfloyd19@umd.edu2022
Gorski, JudiChairCMNSjcgorski@umd.edu2021
Harmon, AnthonyNon-Exempt Staff (Division)VPAFaharmon4@umd.edu2022
Hinson, ElizabethEx-Officio - CUSS RepPLCYehinson@umd.edu2022
Jackson, DoloresEx-Officio - CUSS Rep (Non-Voting)CMNSdej@umd.edu2022
Jennings, AntoniettaNon-Exempt Staff (Division)VPRamjennin@umd.edu2021
Klein, LisaExempt Staff (Academic)ARHUlklein32@umd.edu2021
Lambert-Jones, RytheeEx-Officio - Director of Human Resources RepVPAFelamber1@umd.edu2021
Lewis, JerryEx-Officio - CUSS Rep (Non-Voting)UGSTjleelew@umd.edu2022
Martens, AnneEx-Officio - VP Administration & Finance RepVPAFamartens@umd.edu2021
Patricio, KaliaEx-Officio - CUSS RepVPSAkrp@umd.edu2022
Pekny, JeanneNon-Exempt Staff (Academic)ENGRjpekny@umd.edu2021
Rowh, BrianneExempt Staff (Division)VPSArowhb@umd.edu2021
Schrimpe, MaureenEx-Officio - CUSS RepVPSAschrimpe@umd.edu2022
Stenson, KristinExempt Staff (Academic)CMNSkstenson@physics.umd.edu2022
Wachtel, JenniferNon-Exempt Staff Contingent IILIBRjw23@umd.edu2021