Nominations Committee

Nominations Committee

Chair: TBD
Coordinator: Sarah Hughes (
Materials (for committee members only)

The Nominations Committee solicits nominations from the membership of the Senate for the Executive Committee, Chair-Elect, the Committee on Committees, and other University committees and councils. This committee meets only a few times during the period of late-January through March, but it serves a significant purpose. The Nominations Committee submits a slate of candidates for the Senate Transition Meeting elections. The Senate relies on the good judgment of the members of the Nominations Committee to present candidates that reflect the quality and diversity of the campus community. Only outgoing Senators may serve on the Nominations Committee, and the term of service is one semester. Committee work is completed by April 1st each year.

The committee consists of four faculty members, one exempt staff member, one non-exempt staff member, one graduate student, and one undergraduate student. The Chair-Elect of the Senate serves as a non-voting ex-officio member of the Nominations Committee. The committee elects its own Chair from within its membership.

^ Meetings & Agendas

Spring Semester Meetings
Date Time Location Agenda

Past Committee Work

Committee Members

Brittan-Powell, BethFaculty MemberVPRebrittan@umd.edu2020
Dorland, WilliamFaculty MemberCMNSbdorland@umd.edu2020
Dugan, LauraSenate Chair-ElectBSOSldugan@umd.edu2020
Gor, KiraFaculty MemberARHUkiragor@umd.edu2020
McKennie, EllisGraduate Student MemberPUAFecmck97@terpmail.umd.edu2020
Owusu, NadiaUndergraduate Student MemberBSOSowusun17@gmail.com2020
Padron, RonExempt Staff MemberINFOrapadron@umd.edu2020
Stewart, AudreyNon-Exempt Staff MemberVPAFastewar1@umd.edu2020
Swistak, PiotrFaculty MemberBSOSpswistak@umd.edu2020