TRANSMITTAL | #19-20-31

Senate Committee on Committees

Nominations Committee Slate 2019-2020

PRESENTED BY Laura Dugan, Chair

REVIEW DATES SEC - November 20, 2019 | SENATE - December 4, 2019

VOTING METHOD In a single vote

RELEVANT N/A POLICY/DOCUMENT

> **NECESSARY** Senate **APPROVALS**

ISSUE

The University Senate Bylaws state, "By no later than the scheduled December meeting of the Senate, the Committee on Committees shall present to the Senate eight (8) nominees from among outgoing Senate members to serve on the Nominations Committee. The nominees shall include four (4) faculty members, one (1) exempt staff member, one (1) non-exempt staff member, one (1) graduate student, and one (1) undergraduate student. Further nominations shall not be accepted from the floor of the Senate. The Senate, as a body, shall approve the slate of nominees to serve on the Nominations Committee."

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee on Committees recommends that the Senate approve the slate as presented.

COMMITTEE WORK

The Committee on Committees met on October 29, 2019, to discuss a process for soliciting nominations for the Senate Nominations Committee. The Senate Office had previously contacted all Outgoing Senators regarding the opportunity to serve on the Nominations Committee and received a few volunteers. The Committee on Committees discussed the volunteers at the meeting and additional recruitment tasks were assigned. As required by the Bylaws, the committee assembled a total of eight nominees from among the Outgoing Senators to present to the Senate.

ALTERNATIVES

The Senate can decide not to approve the slate.

RISKS

There are no risks to the University.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no financial implications.

2019-2020 Senate Nominations Committee Slate

Name/Constituency	Department/Unit	<u>College</u>	<u>Term</u>
Non-Voting Ex-Officio			
Laura Dugan	Criminology & Criminal Justice	BSOS	2020
Faculty			
Beth Brittan-Powell Bill Dorland	Office of the Vice President for Research Institute for Research in Electronics and	VPR CMNS	2020 2020
Kira Gor	Applied Physics (IREAP) School of Languages, Literatures, and	ARHU	2020
Piotr Swistak	Cultures Government & Politics	BSOS	2020
Exempt Staff			
Ron Padron	College of Information Studies	INFO	2020
Non-Exempt Staff			
Audrey Stewart	Facilities Management	VPAF	2020
Graduate Student			
Ellis McKennie	School of Public Policy	PLCY	2020
Undergraduate Student			
Nadia Owusu	Government & Politics	BSOS	2020