Transition Meeting Slate 2019

PRESENTED BY Marc Pound, Chair

REVIEW DATES SEC - April 18, 2019 | SENATE - May 7, 2019

VOTING METHOD In a single vote

RELEVANT Bylaws of the University Senate; University of Maryland Plan of Organization for

POLICY/DOCUMENT Shared Governance

NECESSARY APPROVALS Senate, President

ISSUE

The Senate Nominations Committee has prepared a slate of nominees for the 2019-2020 Chair-Elect, the Senate Executive Committee (SEC), and the Committee on Committees, as well as the Senate-elected memberships of the University Athletic Council, the Council of University System Faculty (CUSF), and the Campus Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC).

RECOMMENDATION(S)

The Senate Nominations Committee recommends the attached slate of nominees for election at the May 7, 2019 Transition Meeting of the University Senate.

COMMITTEE WORK

The Nominations Committee began recruitment efforts in February 2019. The committee sent announcements for the self-nominations period to all continuing and incoming Faculty, Staff, and Student Senators. The Nominations Committee met on four separate occasions to discuss nominees and recruitment efforts: February 8, February 21, March 13, March 29, 2019.

Members of the Nominations Committee reached out to eligible candidates for all open seats and obtained written consent of all nominees, in accordance with the Senate Bylaws. The Nominations Committee endeavored to create balanced slates with representation from across campus.

The Nominations Committee voted in favor of approving the attached slate on April 10, 2019.

ALTERNATIVES

The Senate could decide not to accept the slate of nominees for the elections.

RISKS

There are no risks to the University.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no financial implications.

Slate of Candidates for the 2019-2020 Chair-Elect

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

Chair-Elect Nominees (One will be Elected)

• Laura Dugan Professor & Associate Chair College of Behavioral & Social

Sciences, Department of Criminology &

Criminal Justice

Daniel Perry Lathrop Professor College of Computer, Mathematical,

& Natural Sciences, Department of Physics &

Department of Geology

Slate of Candidates for the Senate Executive Committee 2019-2020 Election

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

Faculty Senator Nominees (Seven will be Elected)

Tanya Bansal School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation, Real Estate Development
 Debabrata Biswas College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Avian Sciences

Eugene Cantor Robert H. Smith School of Business, Accounting

• Cinzia Cirillo A. James Clark School of Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Kim Coles College of Arts & Humanities, English

Kelsey Corlett-Rivera University Libraries

William Dorland College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Institute for

Research in Electronics & Applied Physics (IREAP)

Laura Dugan
 College of Behavioral & Social Sciences, Criminology & Criminal Justice

Emily Edwards College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Physics

Rosellina Ferraro Robert H. Smith School of Business, Marketing

Rachel Gammons University Libraries

Agisilaos Iliadis

 A. James Clark School of Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering

 Daniel Perry Lathrop

 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Physics and Geology

Neil Sehgal School of Public Health, Health Services Administration
 Madlen Simon School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation, Architecture

Jo Zimmerman School of Public Health, Kinesiology

Exempt Staff Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Andrea Dragan Division of Research, Institutional Review Board Office

Gene Ferrick College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Dean's Office

Non-Exempt Staff Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Antonietta Jennings Division of Research, Institute for Governmental Service & Research

• Lealin Queen University Libraries, Library Media Services

Graduate Student Senator Nominees (Two will be Elected)

Christophe Beaumier School of Public Policy

Han Kleman College of Behavioral & Social Sciences
 Ramin Moradi A. James Clark School of Engineering

Xinqian Qiu College of Arts & Humanities

Undergraduate Student Senator Nominees (Two will be Elected)

Lauren Brown
 A. James Clark School of Engineering

Sasha Kahn
 School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation

Stephen Kenny
 Hannah Shraim
 College of Behavioral & Social Sciences
 Robert H. Smith School of Business

Slate of Candidates for the Committee on Committees, 2019-2020 Election

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

Faculty Senator Nominees (Three will be Elected)

Benjamin Blake University Libraries

Michele Callaghan College of Arts & Humanities, National Foreign Language Center
 Monique Koppel College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Chemistry &

Biochemistry

Exempt Staff Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

• Shige Sakurai Office of Diversity & Inclusion, LGBT Equity Center

Francis Jerome Winters Division of Information Technology, Learning Technology Strategy

Graduate Student Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Seyed Karimian
 A. James Clark School of Engineering

Brittany Starr College of Arts & Humanities

Undergraduate Student Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Michael Rubenstein Undergraduate Studies, Letters & Sciences

Eleanor Vanvranken School of Public Health

Slate of Candidates for the 2019-2020 Senate-Elected Councils and Committees

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

University Athletic Council Slate 2019-2020

Faculty Representative Nominees (Two will be Elected)

Benjamin Blake University Libraries

• Thomas Cohen College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, *Physics*

• Kim Coles College of Arts & Humanities, *English*

Angela Jones
 A. James Clark School of Engineering, Bioengineering

Council of University System Faculty (CUSF) Slate 2019-2020

Faculty Representative Nominees (Two Full-Time Reps and One Alternate Rep will be Elected)

Patricia Cossard University Libraries

Daniel Falvey College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Chemistry &

Biochemistry

Marc Pound College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Astronomy
 Christopher Walsh College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Plant Science & Landscape

Architecture

Campus Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC) Slate 2019-2020

Faculty Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

Kate Dohe University Libraries

Devin Ellis College of Behavioral & Social Sciences, National Consortium for the Study of

Terrorism & Responses to Terrorism (START)

Exempt Staff Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

• Jolanta Agatha Alipio College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Center for Scientific

Computation and Math Modeling (CSCAMM)

Olivia Dent College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Astronomy

Lisa Klein College of Arts & Humanities, History

Non-Exempt Staff Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

Stephanie Noel College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, *Physics* Audrey Stewart Division of Administration & Finance, *Facilities Business Operations*

Undergraduate Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

Marco Martinez Undergraduate Studies, Letters & Sciences

• Jason Tan College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences