

OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR

April 24, 2019

Dear friends and colleagues,

On behalf of the University System of Maryland (USM) Board of Regents, I am pleased to announce the members of the search and screening committee for the new president of the University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP).

This committee was selected after a lengthy and deliberative process to ensure inclusion of a committed, insightful, diverse group of men and women, each bringing an important perspective to the group. In making the membership decisions, the University Senate, the Board of Trustees, current campus leadership, other stakeholders from the campus community, and members of the broader external community were all consulted. The input received from these various groups was invaluable and is well-reflected throughout the committee membership.

Chaired by regent—and UMCP alumnus—Gary Attman, this 20-member committee will be assisted by Isaacson, Miller, an executive search firm that is known for its success in recruiting senior leaders for some of the nation's top research universities. The committee will be at UMCP on Wednesday, May 8, taking part in a forum held on campus at which all members of the campus community will have the opportunity to share their perspectives on the background and experience the next president of our flagship should possess to be successful and impactful. I encourage you to attend.

The members of the committee, which includes representatives from UMCP faculty, staff, students, and alumni, and from the greater community, are (alphabetically):

- Ritu Agarwal, Distinguished Professor and Chair, Information Systems, UMCP
- Wanda Alexander, Immediate Past President, UMCP Alumni Board of Governors
- Gary L. Attman, Regent, University System of Maryland (Chair)
- Gregory Ball, Professor and Dean, Behavioral and Social Sciences, UMCP (Vice-Chair)
- Sharon Fries-Britt, Professor, Higher Education, UMCP
- Kayla Burch, Undergraduate Student, UMCP
- Debabrata Biswas, Associate Professor, Animal and Avian Sciences, UMCP

INSTITUTIONS // BOWIE STATE UNIVERSITY • COPPIN STATE UNIVERSITY • FROSTBURG STATE UNIVERSITY • SALISBURY UNIVERSITY • TOWSON UNIVERSITY UNIVERSITY OF BALTIMORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE COUNTY UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND EASTERN SHORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND UNIVERSITY COLLEGE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND CENTER FOR ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE REGIONAL CENTERS // UNIVERSITIES AT SHADY GROVE • UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND AT HAGERSTOWN



- Otto Fandino, Director of Administration, Aerospace Engineering, UMCP
- John Fourkas, Professor and Associate Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry, UMCP
- Geoff Gonella, Chair, UMCP Foundation
- Andrea Goodwin, Director, Office of Student Conduct, UMCP
- Barry Gossett, Regent, USM Board of Regents
- William "Brit" Kirwan, USM Chancellor Emeritus and Professor Emeritus, UMCP
- Annie Rappeport, Graduate Student, UMCP
- Leonard Raley, USM Vice Chancellor for Advancement and President, USM Foundation (Staff)
- Justin Ross, Member, UMCP Alumni Association Board of Governors
- Stephen Thomas, Professor, Health Services Administration, UMCP
- Gary Williams, Former Head Men's Basketball Coach, UMCP
- Janelle Wong, Professor, American Studies, UMCP
- Laura Anderson Wright, Associate General Counsel, UMCP

As you know, the selection of an institutional president is one of the board's most significant responsibilities. Identifying the next leader of the system's flagship institution—and one of the nation's best public research institutions—is an obligation the board takes extremely seriously. The search, which is expected to take up to a year or more, will be critically important to the future of both the institution and the entire state.

I am confident the committee will move forward with a thoughtful, engaging, and collaborative search, identifying strong candidates to build upon the impressive strides the university has made under President Loh's eight years of leadership.

Please join me in thanking the search committee members for their willingness to serve on this important committee.

Sincerely,

Kingt. Care

Robert L. Caret, Chancellor

**INSTITUTIONS** // BOWIE STATE UNIVERSITY • COPPIN STATE UNIVERSITY • FROSTBURG STATE UNIVERSITY • SALISBURY UNIVERSITY • TOWSON UNIVERSITY UNIVERSITY OF BALTIMORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE COUNTY UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND EASTERN SHORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND UNIVERSITY COLLEGE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND CENTER FOR ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE **REGIONAL CENTERS** // UNIVERSITIES AT SHADY GROVE • UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND AT HAGERSTOWN