

Senate Nominations Committee

Transition Meeting Slate 2018

PRESENTED BY	Patricio Korzeniewicz, Chair
REVIEW DATES	SEC – April 23, 2018 SENATE – May 9, 2018
VOTING METHOD	In a single vote
	Bylaws of the University Senate; University of Maryland Plan of Organization for Shared Governance
NECESSARY	

APPROVALS Senate, President

ISSUE

The Senate Nominations Committee has prepared a slate of nominees for the 2018-2019 Chair-Elect, the Senate Executive Committee (SEC), and the Committee on Committees, as well as the Senate-elected memberships of the University Athletic Council, the Council of University System Faculty (CUSF), and the Campus Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC).

RECOMMENDATION(S)

The Senate Nominations Committee recommends the attached slate of nominees for election at the May 9, 2018 Transition Meeting of the University Senate.

COMMITTEE WORK

The Nominations Committee began recruitment efforts in January 2018. The committee sent announcements for the self-nominations period to all continuing and incoming Faculty, Staff, and Student Senators. The Nominations Committee met on five separate occasions to discuss nominees and recruitment efforts: February 2, March 9, March 30, April 3, and April 17, 2018.

Members of the Nominations Committee reached out to eligible candidates for all open seats and obtained written consent of all nominees, in accordance with the Senate Bylaws. The Nominations Committee endeavored to create balanced slates with representation from across campus.

The Nominations Committee voted in favor of approving the attached slate on April 17, 2018.

ALTERNATIVES

The Senate could decide not to accept the slate of nominees for the elections.

RISKS

There are no risks to the University.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no financial implications.

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

Chair-Elect Nominees (One will be Elected)

- Kim Coles
- Associate Professor
- Pamela Lanford Assistant Research Professor

College of Arts & Humanities Division of Research

Slate of Candidates for the Senate Executive Committee, 2018-2019 Election

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

Faculty Senator Nominees (Seven will be Elected)

- David Bigio A. James Clark School of Engineering, *Mechanical Engineering*
- Benjamin Blake
 University Libraries
- Debabrata Biswas
 College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Avian Sciences
- Kim Coles
 College of Arts & Humanities, English
- Cynthia Frank
 University Libraries
- Jason Kahn
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Pamela Lanford
 Division of Research
- Marc Pound
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Astronomy
- Edward Priola
 College of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Institute of Applied
 - Agriculture
- William Robin
 College of Arts & Humanities, School of Music
- Neil Sehgal School of Public Health, Health Services Administration
- Dylan Selterman
 College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, Psychology
- Tyson Slocum
 Undergraduate Studies, University Honors Program
- Tunay Tunca
 Robert H. Smith School of Business, Decision, Operations & Information
 Technologies
- Uzi Vishkin
 A. James Clark School of Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Exempt Staff Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Kristin Stenson
 Amy Zimmer
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, *Physics* Division of Administration & Finance, *Procurement & Strategic* Sourcing

Non-Exempt Staff Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

- Chen Chin Division of Administration & Finance, Facilities Management
- Antonietta Jennings Division of Research, Institute for Governmental Service & Research

Graduate Student Senator Nominees (Two will be Elected)

- Chibuike Abana A. James Clark School of Engineering
- Gustavo Garcia
 Robert H. Smith School of Business
- Annie Rappeport
 College of Education
- Nishat Seraj
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences

Undergraduate Student Senator Nominees (Two will be Elected)

- Harry Huntley
 College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
- Mehrnaz Ighani School of Public Health
- Sasha Kahn
 College of Behavioral & Social Sciences
- Jessica Yin
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

Faculty Senator Nominees (Three will be Elected)

- Eric Kutz
 College of Arts & Humanities, School of Music
- Charles D. Levermore College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Mathematics
- Jo Zimmerman School of Public Health, *Kinesiology*

Non-Exempt Staff Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Chen Chin Division of Administration & Finance, Facilities Management

Graduate Student Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Aldrich Raja
 A. James Clark School of Engineering

Undergraduate Student Senator Nominees (One will be Elected)

Noah Fortson Philip Merrill College of Journalism

Submitted by the Senate Nominations Committee

University Athletic Council Slate 2018-2019

Faculty Representative Nominees (Three will be Elected)

- Amelia Arria School of Public Health, Behavioral & Community Health
- Oscar Barbarin College of Behavioral & Social Sciences, African American Studies
- Kenneth Elpus College of Arts & Humanities, School of Music
- Daniel Falvey
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Chemistry & Biochemistry
- Curt Grimm Robert H. Smith School of Business, Logistics, Business, & Public Policy

Council of University System Faculty (CUSF) Slate 2018-2019

Faculty Representative Nominees (Three Full-Time Reps and One Alternate Rep will be Elected)

• Jason Geary College of Arts & Humanities, School of Music

Biochemistry

- Marvin Titus College of Education, Counseling, Higher Education, & Special Education
- Marcia Shofner College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, *Entomology*
- Daniel Falvey
 College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences, Chemistry &

Campus Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC) Slate 2018-2019

Faculty Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

• Paul Schonfeld A. James Clark School of Engineering, *Civil & Environmental Engineering*

Exempt Staff Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

• Brian Falasca Division of Research

Non-Exempt Staff Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

• Jordan Carter-Reich Division of Student Affairs, Resident Life

Undergraduate Representative Nominees (One will be Elected)

Benjamin Reichard College of Behavioral & Social Sciences