

Extra

1100 Marie Mount Hall College Park, Maryland 20742-7541 301.405.5805 TEL 301.405.5749 FAX http://www.senate.umd.edu

November 15, 2005

C. D. Mote, Jr., President University of Maryland 1101 Main Administration Building

Dear President Mote:

On behalf of the University Senate Staff Affairs Committee I am pleased to forward to you our recommendations for the 2005/2006 Board of Regents' University System of Maryland Staff Award nominees. The committee carefully reviewed the nominations and is able to recommend the following candidates who truly exemplify the qualities of exceptional, outstanding, and extraordinary.

3 7	
NO	minee
TAO.	

Sylvia B. Andrews Administrator for Academic Personnel Services Office of VP for Academic Affairs

Sandra L. Davis Academic Program Specialist Neuroscience and Cognitive Science Program Program

Jennifer Jackson Associate Director Office of Multi-Ethnic Student Education

Gail P. Yeiser Assistant to the Dean College of Agriculture & Natural Resources

Category

Exceptional Contribution to the Institution and/or Unit Exempt Staff

Exceptional Contribution to the Institution and/or Unit
Nonexempt Staff

Outstanding Service to Students in an Academic or Residential Environment Exempt Staff

Extraordinary Public Service to the University or to the Greater Community Exempt Staff

The call for nominations brought forth a number of exceptional candidates. However, we were disappointed with the response in regard to nonexempt staff. In the coming year, we will formulate a better means of identifying nonexempt staff that deserve recognition.

As you are aware, the Staff Award nominations must be certified and forwarded by you to the Council of University System Staff. The deadline for submission with your cover letter is November 30, 2005. I appreciate your help in forwarding nominations for CUSS review. Details about the submission process are enclosed. If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at x57016.

Sincerely.

Gene Ferrick, Chair

University Senate Staff Affairs Committee

Enclosures

Cc: Dr. Adele Berlin, Chair, University Senate

Dr. Mary Giles, Executive Secretary & Director, University Senate

Dr. Ann Wylie, Assistant President & Chief of Staff