

University Senate TRANSMITTAL FORM

Senate Document #:	16-17-20		
Title:	Nominations Committee Slate 2016-2017		
Presenter:	Daniel Falvey, Chair, 2016-2017 Committee on Committees		
Date of SEC Review:	November 15, 2016		
Date of Senate Review:	December 6, 2016		
Voting (highlight one):	1. On resolutions or recommendations one by one, or		
	2. In a single vote		
	3. To endorse entire report		
Statement of Issue:	The University Senate Bylaws state, "By no later than the scheduled December meeting of the Senate, the Committee on Committees shall present to the Senate eight (8) nominees from among outgoing Senate members to serve on the Nominations Committee. The nominees shall include four (4) faculty members, one (1) exempt staff member, one (1) non-exempt staff member, one (1) graduate student, and one (1) undergraduate student. Further nominations shall not be accepted from the floor of the Senate. The Senate, as a body, shall approve the slate of nominees to serve on the		
D. L. D. D. W. G. LIDI	Nominations Committee."		
Relevant Policy # & URL:	N/A		
Recommendation:	The Committee on Committees recommends that the Senate approve the slate as presented.		
Committee Work:	The Committee on Committees met on October 25, 2016, to discuss a process for soliciting nominations for the Senate Nominations Committee. The Senate Office had previously emailed the Outgoing Senators regarding the opportunity to serve on the Nominations Committee and received a few volunteers. The Committee on Committees discussed the volunteers at the meeting. Additional recruitment tasks were assigned. As required by the Bylaws, the committee assembled a total of eight nominees from among the Outgoing Senators to present to the Senate.		
Alternatives:	The Senate can decide not to approve the slate.		
Risks:	There are no related risks.		
Financial Implications:	There are no financial implications.		
Further Approvals Required:	Senate Approval.		

2016-2017 Senate Nominations Committee Slate

Name/Constituency	Department/Unit	<u>College</u>	<u>Term</u>
Non-Voting Ex-Officio			
Hom Young Ex Omolo			
Daniel Falvey	Chem & Biochem / Senate Chair-Elect	CMNS	2017
Faculty			
Benjamin Kedem	Mathematics	CMNS	2017
Elizabeth Novara	Libraries	LIBR	2017
Michele Mason	English	ARHU	2017
Manel Lacorte	School of Languages, Literatures, & Cultures	ARHU	2017
Exempt Staff			
James Bond	Office of Student Conduct	VPSA	2017
Non-Exempt Staff			
Audrey Stewart	Facilities Management	VPAF	2017
Graduate Student			
Kimberley Hannah-Prater	Communications	ARHU	2017
Undergraduate Student			
Christian Knapp	Economics / Govt. & Politics	BSOS	2017