

1100 Marie Mount Hall College Park, Maryland 20742-4111 Tel: (301)405-5805 Fax: (301)405-5749 http://www.senate.umd.edu

December 15, 2011

To: President Wallace D. Loh

From: Steve Petkas, Chair

Senate Staff Affairs Committee

RE: Recommended Nominees for 2011-2012 Board of Regents' USM Staff Awards

Each year, the Council of University System Staff (CUSS) accepts nominations for the Board of Regents' University System of Maryland Staff Awards. These awards present an excellent opportunity for USM institutions to recognize outstanding staff members. The awards represent the highest honor bestowed by the Board of Regents (BOR) for achievements of Non-Exempt and Exempt Staff employees from institutions within the University System of Maryland (USM), on the basis of demonstrated excellence in one of four award categories. Eight individuals within the USM will be chosen to receive awards—one non-exempt and one exempt for each of the first three categories below, and one staff member (exempt or non-exempt) for both parts of the Effectiveness and Efficiency Award in administrative or academic transformation category. Each award recipient will receive a \$1,000 stipend.

In accordance with BOR Policy, the nominations must be reviewed at each institution before submission to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. At College Park, the University Senate Staff Affairs Committee (representative of all classifications of employees at UMCP) reviews the nomination packages and submits recommendations to the President. The President sends the final UMCP recommendations to the CUSS Awards Review Committee for consideration. CUSS will select the final USM candidates to be submitted to the BOR. Recipients will be announced in June 2012 with formal presentation of the award recipients by the BOR in the early Fall 2012.

On behalf of the Senate Staff Affairs Committee, it is my pleasure to recommend the following campus nominees for the Board of Regents' University System of Maryland Staff Awards:

1. For Exceptional Contribution to the Institution and/or Unit to which the Person Belongs

Exempt: Maureen Meyer, Assistant Dean for Finance

A. James Clark School of Engineering

Nonexempt: Alan Webbert, Maintenance Supervisor

Facilities Management, Adele H. Stamp Student Union

2. For Outstanding Service to Students in an Academic or Residential Environment

Exempt: Olive Reid, Associate Dean

Philip Merrill College of Journalism

Nonexempt: Patricia Baker, Program Management Specialist

Department of Fire Protection Engineering, A. James Clark School of Engineering

3. For Extraordinary Public Service to the University or to the Greater Community

Exempt: **James McClelland**, Assistant to the Director

Facilities Management, Department of Campus Projects

Nonexempt: No nominees submitted

4. Effectiveness and Efficiency Award

Academic Transformation: No nominees submitted

Administrative Transformation: **June Sherer**, Director of Finance and Administration

Department of Atmospheric & Oceanic Science and Geology College of Computer, Mathematical, & Natural Sciences

In total, we reviewed 32 exempt and 7 non-exempt nominations. All nominees are exceptional members of our University community. Since CUSS has requested that nominations be sent via email this year, the six nomination packets of the recommended nominees will be emailed to your office as PDF files. A compact disc with the same files is enclosed. We have also included hard copies of the nomination packages for your reference.

Please contact me if I may be of further assistance. I can be reached at 301-314-7343 or via email at spetkas@umd.edu.

Cc: Michele A. Eastman, Assistant President and Chief of Staff

Eric S. Kasischke, Chair, University Senate

Reka S. Montfort, Executive Secretary and Director, University Senate

Enclosure(s)

SP:cb