



January 14, 2011

Mr. Christopher Thomas, Chair CUSS Community Development Committee Coppin State University cthomas@coppin.edu

Dear Mr. Thomas:

I am pleased to endorse the seven nominations submitted by the University of Maryland University Senate Staff Awards Committee for the 2011 Board of Regents' University System of Maryland Staff Awards. The nomination materials are enclosed.

Our internal review committee, headed by Cynthia Shaw, Chair of the University Senate Staff Affairs Committee, reviewed each nomination carefully and recommended a slate of candidates for these awards who are without exception outstanding in their performance and dedication.

These candidates are most deserving of the special recognition conveyed by the Regents Staff Awards, and I am pleased to forward to you these nominations with my most enthusiastic endorsement.

Yours sincerely,

Waller Le

Wallace D. Loh President

WDL:sb Enclosures

cc: Ms. Cynthia Shaw, Chair, Senate Staff Affairs Committee

Dr. Linda Mabbs, Chair, University Senate

Ms. Reka Montfort, Executive Director, University Senate Dr. Sally Koblinsky, Assistant President and Chief of Staff



1100 Marie Mount Hall College Park, Maryland 20742-4111 Tel: (301) 405-5805 Fax: (301) 405-5749 http://www.senate.umd.edu

December 15, 2010

To: President Wallace D. Loh

From: Cynthia Shaw, Chair

Senate Staff Affairs Committee

RE: Recommended Nominees for 2010-2011 Board of Regents USM Staff Awards

Each year, the Council of University System Staff (CUSS) accepts nominations for the Board of Regents University System of Maryland Staff Awards. These awards present an excellent opportunity for USM institutions to recognize outstanding staff members. The awards represent the highest honor bestowed by the Board of Regents for achievements of Exempt and Non-Exempt Staff employees from institutions within the University System of Maryland, on the basis of demonstrated excellence in one of four award categories. Eight individuals within USM will be chosen to receive awards—one non-exempt and one exempt for each of the first three categories below, and one staff member (exempt or non-exempt) for both parts of the Effectiveness and Efficiency in administrative or academic transformation category. Each award recipient will receive a \$1,000 stipend.

In accordance with BOR Policy, the nominations must be reviewed at each institution before submission to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. At UMCP, the University Senate Staff Affairs Committee (representative of all classifications of employees at UMCP) reviews all nomination packages and submits recommendations to the President. The President sends the final UMCP recommendations to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. CUSS will then select the final USM candidates to be submitted to the Board of Regents. Recipients will be announced June 2011 with formal presentation of the award recipients by the Board of Regents in the early Fall 2011.

On behalf of the Senate Staff Affairs Committee, it is my pleasure to recommend the following campus nominees for Board of Regents USM Staff Awards:

## 1. For Exceptional Contribution to the Institution and/or Unit to which the Person Belongs

Exempt: Luke Jensen, Director of the Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Equity

Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Nonexempt: Anthony Chan, Electronics Technician III

Department of Psychology

## 2. For Outstanding Service to Students in an Academic or Residential Environment

Exempt: Alan Santos, Director of Student Services

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Nonexempt: Cecilia Jordan, Program Administrative Specialist

Department of Biology

## 3. For Extraordinary Public Service to the University or to the Greater Community

Exempt: Carolyn Consoli, Captain / Acting Chief of Staff

Office of the Chief, Department of Public Safety

Nonexempt: no nominees submitted

4. Effectiveness and Efficiency Award

Academic Transformation: Martha Connolly, Associate Director for Partnerships

Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute

Administrative Transformation: **Jeffrey McKinney**, Director of Computing Facilities

Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Physics,

Mathematics, and the Institute for Systems Research

In total, we received twenty-six exempt and six non-exempt nominations, which is a substantial increase in exempt nominations. All nominees are exceptional members of our University community. As the Council of University System Staff (CUSS) has requested that nominations be sent via email this year, the seven nomination packets of the recommended nominees will be emailed to your office as PDF files. A compact disc with the same files is enclosed. We have also included hard copies of the nomination packages for your reference.

Please contact me if I may be of further assistance. I can be reached at 301-405-9356 or via email at <a href="mailto:ceshaw@umd.edu">ceshaw@umd.edu</a>.

Cc: Sally Koblinsky, Assistant President and Chief of Staff

Linda Mabbs, Chair, University Senate

Reka Montfort, Executive Secretary and Director, University Senate

Enclosure(s)

CS:cb