

1100 Marie Mount Hall College Park, Maryland 20742-4111 Tel: (301) 405-5805 Fax: (301) 405-5749 http://www.senate.umd.edu

December 17, 2009

To: President C.D. Mote

From: Cynthia Shaw, Chair

Senate Staff Affairs Committee

RE: Recommended Nominees for 2009-2010 Board of Regents USM Staff Awards

On behalf of the University Senate Staff Affairs Committee, it is my pleasure to recommend the following campus nominees for Board of Regents USM Staff Awards:

1. For exceptional contribution to the institution and/or unit to which the person belongs

Exempt: Gary Seibel, Research Engineer and Supervisor

Environmental Science & Technology

Nonexempt: Fletcher Kinne, Office Supervisor I

Department of Mathematics

2. For outstanding service to students in an academic or residential environment

Exempt: Linda Lachman, Adviser

College of Chemical and Life Sciences

Nonexempt: Lois Reid, Graduate Coordinator

Department of Biology

3. For extraordinary public service to the university or to the greater community

Exempt: Larry Brookman, Facility Manager

Facilities Management

Nonexempt: Julia Heng,

Department of Public Safety

In total, we received eighteen exempt and ten nonexempt nominations, which is an increase from last year. All nominees are exceptional members of our university community. As the Council of University System Staff (CUSS) has requested that nominations be sent via email this year, the six nomination packets of the recommended nominees will be emailed to your office as PDF files. A compact disc with the same files is enclosed. We are also happy to send hard copies to your office, should you so wish.

Please contact me if I may be of further assistance. I can be reached at 301-405-9356 or via email at ceshaw@umd.edu.

Cc: Sally Koblinsky, Assistant President and Chief of Staff

Elise Miller-Hooks, Chair, University Senate

Reka Montfort, Executive Secretary and Director, University Senate

Enclosure (1)