CORRECTIONS TO ERRORS IN SENATE BYLAWS

The ERG committee was given an incorrect version of the bylaws last year when they started their revisions. The flawed version contained changes in two areas that were not approved by the Senate. Neither the SEC nor the Senate were aware of these changes so were not aware that they were approving substantive changes that altered the membership of the CORE committee and deleted a charge from the Staff Affairs committee. The SEC has voted unanimously to reinstate the correct version of the bylaws in the following areas. This will need to be approved by a 2/3 vote of the full Senate at the September 15, 2008 meeting.

1. Current Incorrect text in the Bylaws p. 12-13:

6.4 Core Liberal Arts and Sciences Program (CORE) Committee:

6.4.a Membership: The committee shall consist of:

(1) An appointed presiding officer; (2) One (1) faculty representative from each of the following colleges: Arts and Humanities; Behavioral and Social Sciences; Computer, Mathematical and Physical Sciences; and Chemical and Life Sciences; (3) One (1) faculty representative rotated from one of the following: Education; Architecture, Planning, and Preservation; the Robert H. Smith School of Business and Management; and Public Health; (4) One (1) faculty representative rotated from among the following colleges: Agriculture and Natural Resources; the Philip Merrill College of Journalism; and the A. James Clark School of Engineering; (5) And two (2) students. (6) The Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of Undergraduate Studies and the Director of the University Honors Program (or their designees) and the Director of CORE Planning and Implementation shall serve as ex officio members of the committee.

Text should be reverted to:

6.4 Core Liberal Arts and Sciences Program (CORE) Committee:

- (2) Ten (10) faculty members consisting of:
- (a) Seven (7) faculty representatives from the Arts and Sciences colleges: Arts and Humanities; Behavioral and Social Sciences; Computer, Mathematical, and Physical Sciences; and Chemical and Life Sciences, provided each college has at least one (1) representative and no college has more than two (2) representatives;
- (b) Three (3) faculty representatives rotated among the following colleges: Education; Architecture, Planning, and Preservation; the Robert H. Smith School of Business and Management; the School of Public Health; Agriculture and Natural Resources; the Philip Merrill College of Journalism; and the A. James Clark School of Engineering, provided no college has more than one (1) representative;

2. Deleted text from charge to Staff Affairs Committee

6.11.e Charge: The committee shall administer the Council of University System Staff (CUSS) nomination and election process. Definitions of eligible staff shall be defined by the Board of Regents and CUSS.

This text can simply be added as item 6.11.e and the current charge under that item will be changed to 6.11.f.