View Bill 19-20-38

Senate Bill 19-20-38

Bill ID: 19-20-38
Name: BOR Staff Awards 2019-2020
Proposed: 09/03/2019
Sponsor: Council of University System Staff (CUSS)
Proposal: The Council of University System Staff (CUSS) is accepting nominations for the 2019-2020 University System of Maryland (USM) Board of Regents' (BOR) Staff Awards. These awards present an excellent opportunity for USM institutions to recognize outstanding staff members. All of the USM institutions are encouraged to submit nominations for the BOR Staff Awards. The awards represent the highest honor bestowed by the BOR for the achievements of Exempt and Non-Exempt Staff employees.

In accordance with BOR Policy, the nominations must be reviewed at each institution before submission to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. At the University of Maryland, the Senate Staff Affairs Committee (representative of all classifications of employees at UMD) reviews all nomination packages and submits recommendations to the President. The President will send recommendations to the CUSS Awards Review Committee. The CUSS Awards Review Committee will then select the final candidates to be submitted to the BOR. Recipients will be announced in summer 2020 with formal presentation of the award recipients by the BOR in early fall 2020.


Status: Under Review
Under Review By: President Loh
Received: 01/21/2020
Decision Due By: 02/07/2020
Actions: President Loh reviewed the nomination materials as submitted by the Staff Affairs Committee and will draft the required presidential endorsement letters.
Next Step: CUSS Review


Reviewed By: Staff Affairs Committee
Received: 09/03/2019
Decision Date: 01/17/2020
Decision Due By: 02/07/2020
Decision: The committee forwarded recommended finalists to the President's Office.
Actions: CUSS sent the 2019-2020 instructions to the University of Maryland on September 3, 2019. The instructions were shared with the Staff Affairs Committee at its first meeting of the year on September 17.

The Staff Affairs Committee began discussing advertising strategies for the nominations process, set the internal campus nominations due date as Friday, November 15, and formed a subcommittee to review nominations. Members of the campus community submitted a total of 21 nomination packets (19 exempt and 2 non-exempt). The subcommittee met to begin reviewing nominations on December 3, when Kristin Stenson was elected to chair the subcommittee. The subcommittee selected its list of recommended finalists at its meeting on December 19, and worked with nominators to strengthen their packets. The Staff Affairs Committee reviewed the nominations and subcommittee recommendations at its meeting on January 17, 2020, and voted to recommend the following nominees:

Award Category One: Exceptional Contribution to the Institution and/or Unit to which the Person Belongs
• Exempt Nominee: Wallace Eddy – University Recreation & Wellness
• Non-Exempt Nominee: No Nominee

Award Category Two: Outstanding Service to Students in an Academic or Residential Environment
• Exempt Nominee: Apitchaya Pimpawathin – Department of Computer Science
• Non-Exempt Nominee: No Nominee

Award Category Three: Extraordinary Public Service to the University or Greater Community
• Exempt Nominee: Kathleen Angeletti – College of Education
• Non-Exempt Nominee: No Nominee

Award Category Four: Effectiveness and Efficiency in Academic or Administrative Transformation
• Olivia Noble - Materials Science & Engineering, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Fire Protection Engineering

Award Category Five: Inclusion, Multiculturalism, and Social Justice
• Exempt Nominee: Ana Palla-Kane – Division of Information Technology
• Non-Exempt Nominee: No Nominee

The nominees were forwarded to President Loh for his consideration on January 21, 2020.
Next Step: Presidential Review